Beastmaster's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Luck gauge is on empty……..

with 8 comments

I have been rollerblading since I was 12. In all of those years never once have I gotten a ticket. Although I have been put in the back of police cars, thrown up against the hood of a car, handcuffed and frisked (in mesh shorts…not cool) and even was held by gun point by two cops up against a wall in downtown LA. Given we used to get kicked out of spots all the time growing up, I have learned to skate safe spots and now that I realize the cost of the small amount of damage that you can do, prefer to spots on abandon properties or ones where we don’t leave a mark. I also, thanks to my missionary experience, am very persuasive and able to get out of a lot of things. You can ask other bladers about it. Many times I am able to turn the conversation around and make the police officer apologize for how he treated us by helping him to understand that at this stage in my skating I am not a hoodlum sk8er boi but actually a real person usually doing more good for the community than the cop. Anyhow my luck came to a screeching hault tonight when we were at the infamous Ghetto Spot. The Ghetto Spot has always been one of my favorites because it had a lot of obstacles in one area and wasn’t EVER a bust. There have been several times when the Realtor has been showing the building and all those along in the party watch us and rooted us on. When we just happen to have a cop that wasn’t willing to let us off tonight and we all received misdemeanors and will have to appear in court. The cop was actually rather nice which surprised me that he gave us tickets. Luckily he told us how to pretty much get out of it when we appear in court. One thing that I do have playing to my advantage was that I was just taking pictures and I actually have made contact with the real estate agent about the building before when we were looking for a place to have our wedding reception. So ……..I do plan on attempting to make contact with the property owner to plea my case. Because honestly having bladers back there with lights is helping to keep bums and junkies away. Wait til the wifey reads this…………..

Written by beastmasterbl8ordie

September 25, 2010 at 4:20 am

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re in the dog house!

    Jana

    September 25, 2010 at 4:38 am

  2. Haha oh man I was kind of bummed no one called me to skate but I went to synagogue instead and prayed and look how it all turned out! How did the cop tell you to get out of the ticket?

    Shayne

    September 25, 2010 at 5:11 am

    • I did call you ….and text’d you a couple times. But yes you were lucky you were in the right place at the right time.

      beastmasterbl8ordie

      September 25, 2010 at 12:51 pm

  3. Dam man ive been there… Hope everything goes well and you get out of the dog house

    mike

    September 25, 2010 at 5:54 am

  4. Don’t call the realtor, show up in person to plead your case!

    Renee

    September 25, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    • Yes. My plan was put myself in contact with the property owner, write them a formal letter/explanation hoping that they in return would write a short blurp and sign it releasing me of any potential charges and then bring that when I have my court date as back up to my case for the judge.

      beastmasterbl8ordie

      September 25, 2010 at 3:09 pm

  5. Good thing Jana wasn’t there- she hates getting in trouble as much as I do.

    Lindsay Lark

    September 26, 2010 at 3:04 am

  6. Were you wearing a helmet?
    That’s all Jana will want to know.

    Cory

    October 3, 2010 at 8:00 am


Leave a Reply

